LANL Foundation  /  Our Grants  /  Competitive Grants

Competitive Grants

LANL Foundation’s competitive grants support schools, school districts, non-profits, Pueblos, Nations, and tribal communities in the Foundation’s seven-county service area of Los Alamos, Mora, Rio Arriba, Sandoval, San Miguel, Santa Fe, and Taos counties. Our competitive grants support a spectra of projects that provide innovative community and school-based programming, collaboration, and advocacy for lifelong learning.

Our Competitive Grants respond to, and reflect the needs of, our Northern New Mexico communities to fulfill our vision that all New Mexicans have the skills and confidence they need to be self-sufficient, lifelong learners who are engaged in their community.

Whom we serve:

LANL Foundation’s grants are open to: 

  • pueblos, tribal communities, and nations
  • public schools
  • school districts 
  • nonprofit New Mexico educational institutions
  • IRS-qualified 501(c)3 organizations 
  • government agencies 

We are a regional foundation serving babies, students, and their families in Northern New Mexico (18 pueblos, tribes, and nations, and 7 counties) with an eye toward statewide influence.

Pueblos, tribes, and nations include: Cochiti Pueblo, Jemez Pueblo, Jicarilla Apache Nation, Kewa Pueblo, Laguna Pueblo, Pueblo of Nambe, Navajo Nation, Ohkay Owingeh, Picuris Pueblo, Pueblo of Pojoaque, San Felipe Pueblo, Pueblo de San Ildefonso, Pueblo of Sandia, Santa Ana Pueblo, Pueblo of Santa Clara, Taos Pueblo, Tesuque Pueblo, and Zia Pueblo

Counties include: Los Alamos, Mora, Rio Arriba, San Miguel, Sandoval, Santa Fe, and Taos

Our grants support initiatives that provide direct programming to students and/or to the adults who work with the babies, children, and youth in our communities. 

Grants Cycle Information


Please Note: all current and previous grantees along with new applicants to our grant opportunities will need to create a new account.

Thank you for your interest. Applications are currently under staff review.

Our Indirect Cost Policy:

  • Tribes, Pueblos & Nations: Up to 20 percent
  • 501(c)3 / Public Charity: Up to 15 percent
  • Quasi-governmental and governmental institutions, LEAs, Districts and Public Schools, including Charter and Tribal Schools: 0 percent

Important Dates:

Be sure to follow us on social media and sign up for our newsletters to receive up-to-date cycle announcements, reminders, and information.