Back to top

Scholarship Partners

Los Alamos National Laboratory & LANS

The Los Alamos Employees’ Scholarship Fund began as a partnership between the LANL Foundation, Los Alamos National Laboratory, and a few key employees who sought a way to give back to the communities in the surrounding area of Northern New Mexico.

One main goal has always been to provide incentive and encouragement for higher learning that would build an educated, skilled local workforce for the Lab and other business and industry.

Since the program began in 1998, the Laboratory workforce has donated over $4.6 million. As part of its commitment to the community, Los Alamos National Security, LLC (LANS) has generously contributed nearly $3 million to the scholarship program, which includes an annual $250,000 employee donation match challenge during the summer campaign that started in 2006 with its Laboratory management contract.

The Lab’s Community Partnerships and Communications & Public Affairs offices play an active role in fundraising during the summer giving campaign.

Many individuals from various Lab divisions and groups, with support from the Director’s office, hire scholarship winners as paid summer interns for valuable experience and mentorship. Some scholars pursue full-time careers at the Lab, the largest employer in Northern New Mexico.

Scholarship Advisory Committee

LAESF is governed by an Advisory Committee composed of donors who are Laboratory and contract employees and retirees selected by other donors.

The committee meets monthly to carry out the goals and objectives of the fund and works year round to ensure a quality scholarship program.

Members conduct the difficult and rigorous process to determine which of the hundreds of student applicants will receive awards. They also conduct outreach at all high schools in the seven counties of Northern New Mexico to inform students of scholarship opportunities.

2017-2018 LAESF Advisory Committee Members

  • Tony Fox, VP of Institutional Advancement & Scholarships
  • John McDermon, Scholarship Program Manager
  • Joanna Gillespie, Community Partnerships Office (CPO) Laison
  • Audrey Archuleta
  • Eva Baca
  • David Bowman
  • Julie Bremser
  • Cassandra Casperson
  • Lynne Clarkson
  • Norman Delamater
  • Paul Dunn
  • Crystal Espinoza
  • Robin Franke
  • Steve Glick
  • Felice Gurule
  • Prabhu Khalsa
  • Leon Lopez, Immediate Past Chair
  • Wendy Marcus
  • Rebecca Martinez
  • Ted Martinez
  • Stephanie McReynolds
  • Frederic Montoya
  • Evelyn Mullen
  • Andrea Pistone, Chair-elect
  • Tania Sanchez, Chair
  • Raeanna Sharp-Geiger
  • Sadonna Tapia
  • Enrique Torres
  • Andrew Wolfsberg

We also thank the LAESF Advisory Committee members who served in the past two years:

  • Eve Bauer
  • Michael Cai
  • Rebecca Chamberlin
  • David Chavez
  • Randy Erickson
  • Greg Erpenbeck
  • Bryan Fearey
  • Phil Goldstone
  • Elaine Jacobs
  • Anne Menefee
  • Evelyn Mullen
  • Carole Rutten
  • Andrea Salazar
  • Toni Taylor
  • Donald Thorp
  • Patrick Trujillo
  • Phil Tubesing
  • Clare Webber