Home | Contact Us | Site Map
About Us
inquiry science education
First Born
Conference on Education
First Born Conference

15th Annual Conference on Education:
“Effective Teaching” with Dr. Harry K. Wong and Dr. Rosemary Wong

About the Conference

The LANL Foundation was pleased to have sponsored Dr. Harry K. Wong and Dr. Rosemary Wong, renowned educators, authors and speakers, who presented the keynote session on “Effective Teaching” during the 15th Annual Conference on Education. The afternoon speaker was Dr. Jeff Goldstein, Director of the National Center for Earth and Space Science Education. The Conference was held on Thursday, October 11 and again Friday, October 12, 2012 from 7:30 am to 3:30 pm at Buffalo Thunder Resort and Conference Center.

Conference was held twice for different audiences:
October 11, 2012 for school districts in Northern New Mexico
October 12, 2012 limited to the school districts participating in the Inquiry Science Education Consortium (ISEC): Dulce, Española, Mesa Vista, Peñasco, Pojoaque, Santa Fe, and Springer.*


The registration fee was $70.00 per person for non-ISEC educators and included breakfast, lunch, and all conference materials.

About the Speakers

In 2006, Instructor magazine polled its readership of teachers and asked them to name their most admired people in education. The final list of 20 included Laura Bush, Hillary Clinton, Howard Gardner, Maya Angelou, Oprah Winfrey, and Harry Wong.

Keynote speakers Harry Wong, Ed,D., and Rosemary Wong, Ed,D., are the most sought-after speakers in education, typically booked two to four years into the future. The husband and wife team are authors of the best-selling book, The First Days of School, which has sold more than 3.6 million copies. Harry is a former award-winning high school science teacher and has received the Horace Mann Outstanding Educator Award and National Teacher Hall-of-Fame Lifetime Achievement Recognition, while Rosemary, a former elementary teacher, has received the Silicon Valley Woman of Achievement Award and Southern Louisiana University School of Education’s Distinguished Alumnus Award. They both have received the Upton Sinclair Award and were nominated for the Brock International Prize in Education.

Afternoon speaker Dr. Jeff Goldstein is Director of the National Center for Earth and Space Science Education, responsible for overseeing the creation and delivery of national science education initiatives with focus on Earth and Space. These include programs for schools, families, and the public; professional development for grades K–12 educators; and exhibitions for museums and science centers. Dr. Goldstein oversees the Voyage National Program, which installs replicas of the Voyage Model Solar System in communities around the world. (The video clip above is Dr. Goldstein speaking at a recent National Science Teachers Association Conference.)

*ISEC School Districts include:
Española Public Schools – Abiquiu Elementary, Alcalde Elementary, Chimayo Elementary, Dixon Elementary, Eutimio “Tim” Salazar III (Fairview) Elementary, Hernandez Elementary,
James H. Rodriguez Elementary, Los Niños Kindergarten Center, Mountain View Elementary, San Juan Elementary, Tony E. Quintana (Sombrillo) Elementary, Velarde Elementary
Mesa Vista Consolidated Schools – El Rito, Ojo Caliente
Pojoaque Valley Schools – Pablo Roybal Elementary, Pojoaque Valley Intermediate School (grades 4 & 5), Pojoaque Valley Sixth Grade Academy
Peñasco Independent Schools – Peñasco Elementary
Santa Fe Public Schools – Agua Fria Elementary, Amy Biehl Community School at
Rancho Viejo, Aspen Community Magnet School, Kearny Elementary, Nava Elementary, Piñon Elementary, Salazar Elementary, Sweeney Elementary
Dulce Independent Schools – Dulce Elementary School
Springer Municipal Schools – Forrester Elementary School, Wilferth Elementary School

Sponsored by a generous donation from LANS

Our keynote speakers will present effective teaching techniques to an audience of educators from Northern New Mexico.

arrowConference Agenda
go toAbout ISEC

arrowWinter 2012 Workshop
arrow14th Annual Conference
arrowWinter 2011 Workshop
13th Annual Conference
12th Annual Conference
11th Annual Conference
10th Annual Conference

Copyright © 2010 Los Alamos National Laboratory Foundation. All rights reserved.